People who find out that I am following a vegan lifestyle will often ask me what I miss most about giving up animal products, and what my biggest challenges are. Arguably my biggest challenge is keeping it secret from my mother-in-law who thinks vegans are part of a cult, but in reality what I miss most is the convenience of being able to eat out… which is what I also miss the most!

I am not a planner, nor am I a morning person.. this has made things especially difficult.  I used to roll out of bed, hop in the shower, get dressed, and hit the road.  This pretty much meant a stop at one of the many Tim Hortons “drive-thru’s” for a breakfast sandwich, and a run to the coffee truck at lunch most days.  Since my change to a plant-based diet, breakfast has become challenging.  It’s hard to get a take-out breakfast that doesn’t involve eggs, bacon, or cheese, so I eat oatmeal.  I’ll admit, oatmeal can be pretty boring and tasteless on its own, but I like to look at oatmeal as a blank canvas.  There isn’t much (within the confines of my own diet) that I haven’t tried adding to it.  Some have been great, other have been a complete disaster.

peanut butter and banana overnight oats
Photo credit: http://domesticate-me.com/

My morning oatmeal was working well for me until the summer heatwave hit… the last thing I wanted was a steaming bowl of anything when it was 30 C outside… so I decided to, as a friend of mine says: “shake the internet, and see what falls out.”   What I ended up with was a staple for the summer, cold Peanut Butter and Banana Overnight Oats.  It may sound strange, and require some forethought; it does need to be prepared the night before, but I promise, it’s actually is good!

If you don’t believe me, try it for yourself.  Recipe credit goes to http://domesticate-me.com/ with some minor tweaks by yours truly.

1 large ripe banana, cut into slices
1 tablespoon smooth peanut butter
1/3 cup rolled oats
2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tablespoon ground chia seeds
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

Throw everything into your favourite container with a lid.  Stir it until the peanut butter is evenly mixed in.  Put the lid on and pop it in the fridge until morning.

If you’re reading Tim Hortons executives… there is room for this on the menu!

Leave a Reply

